View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat Dec 03, 2022 11:45 pm



Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
 Exploring the universe with SWATH? 
Author Message
Civilian
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2021 7:27 pm
Posts: 0
Location: Pennsylvania
Unread post Exploring the universe with SWATH?
Hi. I'm new to SWATH, and was wondering if there was a way to tell it to just wander the universe and log what it sees? I am playing a 30k sector universe and stardock location is hidden, so I want to track it down but not spend my entire life wandering aimlessly lol.

Thanks!


Sun Oct 31, 2021 8:41 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 2546
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Exploring the universe with SWATH?
You have to use a script for that. Join us on discord and we can help you get setup.

You need to run a Zero Turn Map (ZTM). The one in Swath sucks, so you need a better ZTM. I really like Pro ZTM 4 or you can use Mombot ZTM. There are other ZTMs available, but those are the two most popular. Pro ZTM will create a list of 7 way sectors that you need in the next part.

After your ZTM finishes, you need to look for 7 way sectors. Stardock and SOL always have 6 ways out and a "BackDoor". SOL may have multiple back doors and sector 2 can have some. Other than that 7 Ways are pretty rare and you just need to explore all of them. You may also find Alpha Centauri and/or Rylos while you are searching.

For some reason, you will always find StarDock in the last sector you search. Not sure why?

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002

ICQ is Dead Jim! Join us on Discord:
https://discord.gg/zvEbArscMN


Thu Dec 09, 2021 12:32 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 2546
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: Exploring the universe with SWATH?
Alternatively, you could just run world trade, and probably find it.

Also, at extern, all figs in space lanes are cleared. If you surround fedspace, and then surround any figs that figs get removed, you will eventually find StarDock and the other Class zeros, but it would take a couple weeks.

This setting is never used in competitive games, because the first player to find stardock can lock the game down.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002

ICQ is Dead Jim! Join us on Discord:
https://discord.gg/zvEbArscMN


Thu Dec 09, 2021 1:34 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Lieutenant Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:00 am
Posts: 791
Location: Iowa
Unread post Re: Exploring the universe with SWATH?
Quote:
a way to tell it to just wander the universe and log what it sees?


Not out of the box, SWATH won't just explore. You could probably
write a Java script of some sort and SWATH could be coerced into
a 'World Explore.'

Assuming you are in a high turn or unlimited turn game, why not
just hit World Trade, as suggested above?

_________________
#+++
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
#---


Sat Dec 11, 2021 2:38 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Chief Warrant Officer

Joined: Sun Mar 06, 2011 12:22 am
Posts: 159
Unread post Re: Exploring the universe with SWATH?
If you want to explore using SWATH you hit World Trade and click "Do not trade, just explore."

_________________
Photons away!


Tue Jun 21, 2022 9:29 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 5 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.