View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Sat May 08, 2021 11:38 am



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 Planet landing lag bug 
Author Message
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Planet landing lag bug
When you land on a planet it causes all of the planets to go thru an update routine. Normally this is good, but in some games you can have dozens, hundreds or thousands of planets in a single sector. This causes the CPU to spike and the entire server lags.

People tend to play more edits where planets are created with resources. So there are some scripts that create a bunch of planets, strip the resources and then blow and re-create the planets. If you have a few people running scripts like this it can result in the same lag, causing the entire server to crawl.

Most of the time these planets are not colonized, so there's no need to update them as frequently (only update uninhabited worlds when a person lands or drops cols or changes something on a planet... perhaps?).

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Thu Dec 20, 2007 10:18 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:00 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Kansas
Unread post Re: Planet landing lag bug
Singularity wrote:
When you land on a planet it causes all of the planets to go thru an update routine. Normally this is good, but in some games you can have dozens, hundreds or thousands of planets in a single sector. This causes the CPU to spike and the entire server lags.

People tend to play more edits where planets are created with resources. So there are some scripts that create a bunch of planets, strip the resources and then blow and re-create the planets. If you have a few people running scripts like this it can result in the same lag, causing the entire server to crawl.

Most of the time these planets are not colonized, so there's no need to update them as frequently (only update uninhabited worlds when a person lands or drops cols or changes something on a planet... perhaps?).


This bug has been used to "kill" a server in regard to performance. I won't cover how to do it, but have seen it.

_________________
               / Promethius / Enigma / Wolfen /

"A man who has no skills can be taught, a man who has no honor has nothing."


Thu Dec 20, 2007 11:24 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post 
So when a player lands on one planet, every planet in the sector is updated? You said that it was good that this happens. Why would it matter if all of the other planets are being updated? Why not update only the planet the player is landing on? The goal with planet production is to only update it just-in-time, as someone is about to interact with it. So if you land on planet A, planet A should be updated, but planets B, C, D, etc, should not update. Would that improve this situation, and if that is a change in how the game currently behaves, would it create problems?

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Fri Dec 21, 2007 10:54 am
Profile WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post 
Why not update only the planet being landed on?
Answer: Planet scanner results.

But for uninhabited planets, well... yea, why bother? Also, why bother updating more than once every few seconds or a minute (provided nothing has been changed) unless someone is landing on the planet? It's not like planet scanner results are accurate to the Nth detail, an extra tiny portion of figs would not make any difference on an invasion decision... and that's even if they were noticeable at all.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:00 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post 
Ok, so if the player has a planet scanner, then goes to land, it builds a list of planets with the latest data on the planet, therefore requiring an update. Ok, but that still seems like overkill. I will look at ways to limit the number of planets being updated in a burst, including your suggestion.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Fri Dec 21, 2007 6:06 pm
Profile WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 2:00 am
Posts: 639
Location: USA
Unread post 
even when using a space to abort the display.. the planets still update?

When trying to land on a planet in a sector with 100's of planets.. and using an aborted display.. I still get heavy lag.


Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:24 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 3150
Location: USA
Unread post 
Ok, I'm sure I can improve this situation.

_________________
John Pritchett
EIS
---
Help fund the TradeWars websites! If you open a hosting account with A2 Hosting, the service EIS uses for all of its sites, EIS will earn credits toward its hosting bill.


Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:41 pm
Profile WWW
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.