View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Oct 18, 2019 4:23 am



Reply to topic  [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
 New Hoster 
Author Message
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:53 pm
Posts: 13
Unread post New Hoster
Alright, so I really only have one concern. Do I really need to own a website to host this game or did the registration forum just want something in that field to help deter registration duplicating? I don't actually own a website and frankly all I want to do is host a game from my machine so that my father-in-law and I can play over the internet along with anyone else who is interested. I did go ahead and use my FB url for the site name when I registered earlier today.

Thanks for your time in helping me with this concern. :)


Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:57 pm
Profile
Commander

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1324
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Hoster
Greetings!

You do not need to have a website in order to have a TWGS server.

_________________
Infecting others with a Polymorphic Virus since 1975.

Curing ignorance and terminal stupidity since 1999.

Questioning the intellectual abilities of three digit annual salary earners since 2015.


Wed Dec 05, 2012 5:37 pm
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3891
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Hoster
Yes, welcome!

I have a facebook page and a blog (free blogspot.com) for my game server.

If you use JumpGate your site will be listed on the EIS Museum site as well.

Good Luck!

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team
2018 HHT Champs: Rock Stars


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

Web page from 1990's: https://web.archive.org/web/20170103155 ... adewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:09 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:53 pm
Posts: 13
Unread post Re: New Hoster
*sigh* so I need a static ip or dns service huh? Can't just host on my comp?


Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:09 am
Profile
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:53 pm
Posts: 13
Unread post Re: New Hoster
Sorry about the double post! I have signed up for Dyn service and setup a hostname and opened my ports/port forwarding/etc. I try to connect to my server *which is running* via my telnet client *Gmud* and it says that it connected... but then it failed to detect protocol. expected telnet... *sigh* Any help in running through all the setup steps with me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!


Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:32 am
Profile
Commander

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1324
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Hoster
What port do you have TW set to? The generic telnet 23 or the 2002 like a lot of servers?
Can you access the game internally from another computer on your network?
Is the firewall on on the PC that hosts the game?

_________________
Infecting others with a Polymorphic Virus since 1975.

Curing ignorance and terminal stupidity since 1999.

Questioning the intellectual abilities of three digit annual salary earners since 2015.


Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:45 am
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3891
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Hoster
Samek15 wrote:
Sorry about the double post! I have signed up for Dyn service and setup a hostname and opened my ports/port forwarding/etc. I try to connect to my server *which is running* via my telnet client *Gmud* and it says that it connected... but then it failed to detect protocol. expected telnet... *sigh* Any help in running through all the setup steps with me would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!


Explore your router settings to open port 23, for players, and port 2003 for admin, like Oso said.

You'll also have to set the IP address of your game server in the router. In my case, my TWGS is on an old server I used to use in business, but it no longer serves that purpose, so my game server is on a dedicated server on my home network.

My router also has settings that allows me to set this router with game host settings. And be sure to set your security settings on your router, change the default user name and password for your router.

If you don't have a router, it would be a good investment for any home network these days.

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team
2018 HHT Champs: Rock Stars


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

Web page from 1990's: https://web.archive.org/web/20170103155 ... adewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Thu Dec 06, 2012 10:57 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:53 pm
Posts: 13
Unread post Re: New Hoster
I was able to connect to my server via a bbs telnet client from my linux box but wasn't able to connect via my Gmud client. My father-in-law also wasn't able to connect with Gmud. Do you have a client you recommend? I did activate Jumpgate, is there a possibility my server could get a "Play!" link next to it to use your browser based client?

Thanks again for all your help Cruncher! Don't know why I'm having so many issues with this. >_<


Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:43 pm
Profile
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:53 pm
Posts: 13
Unread post Re: New Hoster
[quote="Oso"]What port do you have TW set to? The generic telnet 23 or the 2002 like a lot of servers?
Can you access the game internally from another computer on your network?
Is the firewall on on the PC that hosts the game?[/quote]

I have it setup on port 23. Also I have setup my router and firewall to accept port forwarding and so forth *following Dyn's tutorial's*. I can access my server *finally!* from my netbook which is running ubuntu in the other room *accessed it remotely via internet, not local network* but I can't seem to access it with Gmud on my computer or my in-law's computer. Attempting to find a client that will work....


Thu Dec 06, 2012 12:47 pm
Profile
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:53 pm
Posts: 13
Unread post Re: New Hoster
first off, really sorry about these extra postings. It was indeed a problem with what program we were using. We are currently using Putty and are successfully connecting to my server. does anyone have any suggestions for a telnet/bbs client? also is there a way we could use the browser based client featured on twgs.classictw.com ?

Thanks again for all your help and sorry if I was a pain or broke any board rules.


Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:03 pm
Profile
Commander

Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1324
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Hoster
No worries.
GMud seems like something similar to Zmud?
I've used Zmud before, and it does not work with tradewars at all, as it is looking for things other than what muds use.

_________________
Infecting others with a Polymorphic Virus since 1975.

Curing ignorance and terminal stupidity since 1999.

Questioning the intellectual abilities of three digit annual salary earners since 2015.


Thu Dec 06, 2012 7:18 pm
Profile WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 23, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 3891
Location: USA
Unread post Re: New Hoster
Samek15 wrote:
first off, really sorry about these extra postings. It was indeed a problem with what program we were using. We are currently using Putty and are successfully connecting to my server. does anyone have any suggestions for a telnet/bbs client? also is there a way we could use the browser based client featured on twgs.classictw.com ?

Thanks again for all your help and sorry if I was a pain or broke any board rules.


Don't apologize! You're doing fine! Keep asking questions. I always say, there are no dumb questions, only dumb answers.

For a straight telnet program I use Zoc. http://www.emtec.com/zoc/

Currently I'm using Swath to connect to TWX Proxy (127.0.0.1, or localhost) and then use TWX Proxy to connect to the game server.

I use Windows programs, so you may want to find someone who uses Mac's if you run into any more issues.

_________________
Image
HHT 2015 Champs: Cloud09
Big Game 2016 Champs: Draft team
2018 HHT Champs: Rock Stars


Classic Style Games Here:
telnet://Cruncherstw.no-ip.biz:2002

Web page from 1990's: https://web.archive.org/web/20170103155 ... adewar.htm
Blog with current server info: http://cruncherstw.blogspot.com
E-mail: Cruncherstw@gmail.com
FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/CrunchersTW


Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:28 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2011 1:19 pm
Posts: 2240
Location: Oklahoma City, OK 73170 US
Unread post Re: New Hoster
Oso wrote:
No worries.
GMud seems like something similar to Zmud?
I've used Zmud before, and it does not work with tradewars at all, as it is looking for things other than what muds use.

TWGS sends the telnet comnmand "Are You There" [AYT], and it is just looking for any telnet response. Apparently these MUD clients are not sending a telnet response.

_________________
Regards,
Micro

Website: http://www.microblaster.net
TWGS2.20b/TW3.34: telnet://twgs.microblaster.net:2002
TeamSpeak3: ts.microblaster.net:9987

Do not try and bend the spoon. That’s impossible.
Instead… only try to realize there is no spoon.


Fri Dec 07, 2012 2:57 am
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1096
Location: Tucson, AZ
Unread post Re: New Hoster
Samek15 wrote:
I try to connect to my server *which is running* via my telnet client *Gmud* and it says that it connected... but then it failed to detect protocol. expected telnet... *sigh*


I ran into this when writing my helper. TWGS sends a Telnet option negotiation when you connect, and as long as the client sends any Telnet response, TWGS proceeds using Telnet. The problem is that the option negotiation TWGS sends is bogus. It sends IAC WILL AYT. AYT isn't properly a Telnet option; a proper AYT is just IAC AYT. Gmud is probably ignoring it because it's bogus, although the proper thing to do would be to reply IAC DONT AYT. So, it's a Gmud bug revealed by a TWGS bug.

_________________
Suddenly you're Busted!


Fri Dec 07, 2012 3:01 pm
Profile WWW
Staff Sergeant

Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 4:53 pm
Posts: 13
Unread post Re: New Hoster
Mongoose wrote:
Samek15 wrote:
I try to connect to my server *which is running* via my telnet client *Gmud* and it says that it connected... but then it failed to detect protocol. expected telnet... *sigh*


I ran into this when writing my helper. TWGS sends a Telnet option negotiation when you connect, and as long as the client sends any Telnet response, TWGS proceeds using Telnet. The problem is that the option negotiation TWGS sends is bogus. It sends IAC WILL AYT. AYT isn't properly a Telnet option; a proper AYT is just IAC AYT. Gmud is probably ignoring it because it's bogus, although the proper thing to do would be to reply IAC DONT AYT. So, it's a Gmud bug revealed by a TWGS bug.


I find that to be rather hiliarious!

As far as future help, I am hosting TWGS successfully on my Windows Box. As far as local play, I use either the built in client or Putty.

What I would like to know tho, if I was to host my game on Jumpgate, would there be a way I could incorporate the "Play!" link for my game that would in turn use the browser based client that TWGS has on their site? If it is an option, would I have to pay? Just thinking that using the browser based client may be easier than having to teach each of my friends how to use Putty... while I grew up on telnet, most people I know did not.

Thanks for being a very helpful community! :D


Fri Dec 07, 2012 4:07 pm
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 63 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.