www.ClassicTW.com
http://www.classictw.com/

Quastion about Synchronet and TW2002
http://www.classictw.com/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=33091
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Stang5_0 [ Tue Mar 20, 2012 9:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Quastion about Synchronet and TW2002

Hi guys,

TW2002 2.20b
Synch 3.15b

In trying to get these two to play nicely together or at least come close, is there something other then what is posted at http://wiki.synchro.net/howto:door:tw2002

It says:

SCFG Settings

Name Trade Wars 2002 v3.09
Internal Code TW2002
Start-up Directory ../xtrn/tw2002
Command Line tw2002 twnode=%#
Clean-up Command Line
Execution Cost None
Access Requirements
Execution Requirements
Multiple Concurrent Users Yes
Intercept Standard I/O No
Native (32-bit) Executable No
Modify User Data No
Execute on Event No
BBS Drop File Type GAP DOOR.SYS
Place Drop File In Node Directory
Door Specific Instructions

Node Settings in TEDIT.EXE / (O) BBS Node Editor
(Replace # with BBS Node Number for each Node)
Node number: #
<A> Path to Data files : <Default Directory>
<B> Path to Drop file : c:\sbbs\node#\
<C> BBS Drop file type : DOOR
<D> Hardware Handshaking: Yes
<E> Active Node : Yes
<F> Fossil port 1 to 254: 1
<I> I/O Type : Fossil


I have a feeling it is a node issue, but all the info I find seems to be outdated. Is anyone aware of something a bit more recent to help with getting the door to work?

Thanks,
Stang

Author:  John Pritchett [ Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Quastion about Synchronet and TW2002

The info you're looking at is about the BBS door. TWGS is not a door. It's a TCP/IP server. To run TWGS with Synchronet, you'll need to use an outbound telnet or RLogin module and point it to TWGS, either on the same machine or a different one. RLogin is preferable because it forces your players to use their BBS name in TWGS, while a telnet connection would allow the player to enter any name when connecting to TWGS from your BBS. Other than that, it works pretty much the same way.

Author:  Thrawn [ Tue Mar 20, 2012 11:52 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Quastion about Synchronet and TW2002

There are two ways to setup TradeWars with Synchronet (SBBS).

One is to install the DOS version in the \sbbs\xtrn\twars folder. Then run TEDIT and you will need to configure *each* node you need for your BBS. So if you are running 10 nodes in SBBS and want 10 nodes in TradeWars, you need to configure each node. Remember that node 0 is "local" only, so you will need to configure nodes 1-10.

In SBBS, here is the configuration you need for the first method:

Image

The second is if you want SBBS to connect to a TWGS and not the DOS version. To do that, you need the following configuration:

Image

Now notice the command line:

*telgate yourdomain:yourport

The command line uses the telgate command, which you will need. I've attached to this post. Place the two telgate files in your exec folder.

Attachments:
File comment: Telgate command for Synchronet and TWGS.
sbbs_tw_telgate.zip [773 Bytes]
Downloaded 359 times

Author:  Stang5_0 [ Fri Mar 23, 2012 6:46 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Quastion about Synchronet and TW2002

Thanks you Thrawn for the suggestion. I went with option 2 and it worked.
Stang

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/