View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Nov 21, 2019 4:37 am



Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
 TwgS Server Requirements are (?) 
Author Message
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 2:00 am
Posts: 638
Location: USA
Unread post TwgS Server Requirements are (?)
I have multiple, slightly(ancient) older, computers and computer parts scattered in random boxes...

Was wondering what it took for a decent setup for a Twgs server.
Knowing that everything spare I have is at least 5 years old.. Im not even sure if its worth even trying.

And.. what the most important ingredient for a decent server. As far as lag and speed of the game goes.

Dsl speed, ram, processor ??


Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:18 pm
Profile ICQ
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 1432
Location: USA
Unread post Re: TwgS Server Requirements are (?)
Muss wrote:
I have multiple, slightly(ancient) older, computers and computer parts scattered in random boxes...

Was wondering what it took for a decent setup for a Twgs server.
Knowing that everything spare I have is at least 5 years old.. Im not even sure if its worth even trying.

And.. what the most important ingredient for a decent server. As far as lag and speed of the game goes.

Dsl speed, ram, processor ??


TWGS itself is a very low resource program...however the more players you have online the more cpu you need....it is usually more about your internet speed and Connection then your CPU. Thats just from what i've seen.An old computer of 4 or 5 years will run TWGS with no issues at all.


Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:22 pm
Profile
Veteran Op

Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 4:04 pm
Posts: 5025
Unread post Re: TwgS Server Requirements are (?)
The processing speed is most important as far as the server. The amount of memory may be an issue if this is not a dedicated server. The most important thing as SG said is your connection speed and bandwidth. Of course you'll need a static IP, or a redirect IP & IP update client if you have a dynamic IP.

Note: Aliens will use up a lot of your processing speed.


Wed Dec 02, 2009 6:34 pm
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: TwgS Server Requirements are (?)
And a lot depends on if your running any server side scripts or Aliens. As an example.
My First server was a 2.8Ghz with 1Gig of Ram and when my scripts would kick in the CPU would jump to 20/25%.
I changed it out with an AMD FX53 same scripts then used 11/13% CPU.
Finally I decided to spend a little money and put together a AMD Quad Core 3.2 now with everything running plus connecting through VNC I have only seen it hit 5% 1 time. Normal is 2/3% CPU and 400M Ram being used.
But I would agree your connection will make the biggest difference. But if plan to run aliens overkill on the CPU is a plus.

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Wed Dec 02, 2009 7:21 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1737
Location: USA
Unread post Re: TwgS Server Requirements are (?)
What they said,...

Aliens eat up CPU big time, and will cause some lag. However if you don't run any games with aliens, My old Pentium Pro would run the game just fine!

_________________
American soldiers don't fight because they hate what's in front of them...they fight because they love what's behind them.
http://www.runawayproton.com <-- Expired
telnet://runawayproton.dyndns.org:223 V2.20b Games <-- Expired
http://www.twsubspace.com <-- Expired
Teamspeak 3 50.23.212.53:4196 <-- Expired
Just a has been now.


Wed Dec 02, 2009 10:36 pm
Profile WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: TwgS Server Requirements are (?)
Aliens are a massive CPU sink.

But there are other things too. Xporting and landing w/ a pscanner are
notoriously CPU intensive.

TWGS will run on older machines okay, but if you give it more resources
it will certainly put them to good use. Well, up to a point. CPU use is
suprisingly effective across multiple threads and cores, as every node
gets it's own process. That will certainly improve results on load days.

The max ram you'll ever need is 8mb per node plus OS, so if your running
windows XP and TWGS, 1.5gb is the max you'll ever need. You simply won't
use any more than that, even if it's available. That's assuming 100 nodes
in use, too.

Right now with 15 players, most of them mapping, I'm at 15% load and 400mb
ram usage. So obviously there's a big difference between peak load and
average loads. This is on a P4 3.0ghz and 2gb ram running XP SP 3. The CPU
came out late 2004, so it's about 5 years old now.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Wed Dec 02, 2009 11:19 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2003 2:00 am
Posts: 638
Location: USA
Unread post Re: TwgS Server Requirements are (?)
thanks for info ;)


Thu Dec 03, 2009 1:24 am
Profile ICQ
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 7 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.