View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Fri Nov 22, 2019 9:56 pm



Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ] 
 No Route Within 45 Warps 
Author Message
Gameop

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:00 am
Posts: 241
Location: USA
Unread post No Route Within 45 Warps
Got a question and I'm not real sure if this is where I should ask it. After a lengthy abscence I finally got my server back up and running and even have a couple of players in it already, besides myself that is. I did a ZTM and found a rather large bubble, 299 sectors. When I tried to go there, I got 'No route within 45 warps of sector xxxxx' clear avoids? I hit yes knowing I hadn't avoided anything and tried again and got the same message. I then looked for black holes with SWATH and found none. How can I fix this so other players don't run into the same problem?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

_________________
Ahab

ahabstwgs.game-host.org
msn orkidz4u@hotmail.com
yahoo orkidz4u@yahoo.com
msn IM Ahab
yahoo IM Orkidz4u


Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:24 am
Profile YIM
Commander

Joined: Sun Feb 25, 2001 3:00 am
Posts: 1802
Location: Guam USA
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
Its all based on the random seed you choose at bang.

Only way to fix it is to increase max warp length or rebang and use 0 as seed .. then most of the time it should all be assessable.

But it happens , usually only a few sectors .. but nothing can really be done.

_________________
TWGS V2 Vids World on Guam Port 2002
Telnet://202.151.82.243:2002
Coconut Telegraph (ICQ)# 14340614
Founding Member -=[Team Kraaken]=- Winners of Gridwars 2010 - Ka Pla
Image

Image
Image
Undisputed Champions of 2019 HHT Just for showing up!

The Oldist , Longist Running , Orginal Registered Owner of a TWGS server :
Vids World On Guam


Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:54 am
Profile ICQ WWW
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 24, 2000 3:00 am
Posts: 1432
Location: USA
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
Vid Kid wrote:
Its all based on the random seed you choose at bang.

Only way to fix it is to increase max warp length or rebang and use 0 as seed .. then most of the time it should all be assessable.

But it happens , usually only a few sectors .. but nothing can really be done.


I thought this had to do with max course length??
**Edit** In general Editor number 2 option : is Max Course length setting. Try Setting that number Higher to like 65. **Edit**




Sun Feb 22, 2009 11:56 am
Profile
Gameop

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:00 am
Posts: 241
Location: USA
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
Ok. I just increased it to 65 and got 'No route within 65 warps'. Seems I ran into this a few years ago with a game but just can't remember what I was told to do to fix it. Seems like I had to go into editor and 'attach' it to another sector.

_________________
Ahab

ahabstwgs.game-host.org
msn orkidz4u@hotmail.com
yahoo orkidz4u@yahoo.com
msn IM Ahab
yahoo IM Orkidz4u


Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:10 pm
Profile YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
Probably a sector w/ no warps in. Make a list of the sectors and then look at them in t-edit, see if there's any hops out. If there aren't, obvious enough. If there are, then you've got a disconnected bubble... an area of the universe that's isolated from the rest. If that's the case then you have to "poke a hole" and connect a warp out and a warp in into the bubble.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:36 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Gameop

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:00 am
Posts: 241
Location: USA
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
Thanks Sing...I'll go in and look.

_________________
Ahab

ahabstwgs.game-host.org
msn orkidz4u@hotmail.com
yahoo orkidz4u@yahoo.com
msn IM Ahab
yahoo IM Orkidz4u


Sun Feb 22, 2009 12:47 pm
Profile YIM
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:00 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Kansas
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
I've seen this also where the op banged a game with say a 50 warp max and then changed the setting to a shorter warp max. If the sector that you can't reach is in a bubble that was found, then the warps in and out are intact. If you used a bubble script similar to proBubble, then it just has to get to the first sector to start working the bubble. If the max warp length was changed to a shorter warp length then it should have broken the ztm for the most part, and resulted in a very inaccurate ZTM and bubble identification.

_________________
               / Promethius / Enigma / Wolfen /

"A man who has no skills can be taught, a man who has no honor has nothing."


Sun Feb 22, 2009 1:16 pm
Profile ICQ
Gameop

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:00 am
Posts: 241
Location: USA
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
I've seen this also where the op banged a game with say a 50 warp max and then changed the setting to a shorter warp max. If the sector that you can't reach is in a bubble that was found, then the warps in and out are intact. If you used a bubble script similar to proBubble, then it just has to get to the first sector to start working the bubble. If the max warp length was changed to a shorter warp length then it should have broken the ztm for the most part, and resulted in a very inaccurate ZTM and bubble identification

Ok. When I bang a game, I use the 'normal' 45 warp max. I've found that this has always worked out and have never seen a reason to change it. I've run into this maybe 1 or 2 times in what, 7 yrs or so? I ran the ztm and found this bubble. I tried getting to the bubble and got the no route message. Right now I'm running another ztm using ATTAC (I ran the first one in SWATH). I'll then go one by one through whatever I find and see if I can get there. In an earlier reply it was suggested I try lengthening the warp limit to 65 to see if, perhaps, this bubble was just that much farther out. I did and got the same 'no route only this time within 65 warps, so I just went back to the more normal 45. I will say that this is puzzling and a little irritating that I just can't remember how to find that one sector to allow me to 'poke a hole' and connect this sector. I don't use proBubble, in fact had never heard of it until I just read it. I believe it's that first sector of the bubble that somehow got disconnected during the bang, or somehow got missed when holes were poked during the bang. As I said, is just bafflling as in all the time I've been testing these games BEFORE I finally got the port forwarding issue straightened out this never happened. I guess it's just another manifestation of Murphy's Law that it HAD to happen the first time the server is back open to the public <laughing>.

_________________
Ahab

ahabstwgs.game-host.org
msn orkidz4u@hotmail.com
yahoo orkidz4u@yahoo.com
msn IM Ahab
yahoo IM Orkidz4u


Sun Feb 22, 2009 6:53 pm
Profile YIM
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:00 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Kansas
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
You may be able to use an observer account to find the sectors by havinga script parse the data. You can also use a T-edit script, but it will be fairly slow. I think the following might work, but haven't really tested it.

Run it from the T-Edit game selection menu.

Code:
# check for orphaned sectors
# a kludge of a script by Promethius

:menu
echo ANSI_11 "**  Enter the game to be check."
getConsoleInput $gameLetter

  :checkSectors
   send $gameLetter
   setTextTrigger inEdit :inEdit "Trade Wars 2002 Editor"
   pause
   :inEdit
   send "s"
   waitfor ") [0]"
   getText CURRENTLINE $maxSectors "0 to " ") [0]"
   stripText $maxSectors ","
   setVar $i 1
   setArray $warpIn $maxSectors
   setArray $warpOut $maxSectors
      send $i "*"
   while ($i <= $maxSectors)
      setTextLineTrigger warps :warps "Warps lead to:"
      pause
      :warps
      setVar $cnt 5
      while ($cnt <= 15)
       getword currentline $wrp $cnt
       if ($wrp > 0)
          setVar $warpOut[$i] 1
          setVar $warpIn[$wrp] 1
       end
       add $cnt 2
     end
     add $i 1
     send ">"
   end
   setVar $i 1
   while ($i <= $maxSectors)
      if ($warpOut[$i] = 0) or ($warpin[$i] = 0)
         write "OrphanSectors.txt" $i
      end
      add $i 1
   end

_________________
               / Promethius / Enigma / Wolfen /

"A man who has no skills can be taught, a man who has no honor has nothing."


Sun Feb 22, 2009 7:34 pm
Profile ICQ
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Aug 20, 2004 2:00 am
Posts: 1800
Location: Outer Rims
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
Promethius wrote:
You may be able to use an observer account to find the sectors by havinga script parse the data. You can also use a T-edit script, but it will be fairly slow. I think the following might work, but haven't really tested it.

Run it from the T-Edit game selection menu.

Code:
# check for orphaned sectors
# a kludge of a script by Promethius

:menu
echo ANSI_11 "**  Enter the game to be check."
getConsoleInput $gameLetter

  :checkSectors
   send $gameLetter
   setTextTrigger inEdit :inEdit "Trade Wars 2002 Editor"
   pause
   :inEdit
   send "s"
   waitfor ") [0]"
   getText CURRENTLINE $maxSectors "0 to " ") [0]"
   stripText $maxSectors ","
   setVar $i 1
   setArray $warpIn $maxSectors
   setArray $warpOut $maxSectors
      send $i "*"
   while ($i <= $maxSectors)
      setTextLineTrigger warps :warps "Warps lead to:"
      pause
      :warps
      setVar $cnt 5
      while ($cnt <= 15)
       getword currentline $wrp $cnt
       if ($wrp > 0)
          setVar $warpOut[$i] 1
          setVar $warpIn[$wrp] 1
       end
       add $cnt 2
     end
     add $i 1
     send ">"
   end
   setVar $i 1
   while ($i <= $maxSectors)
      if ($warpOut[$i] = 0) or ($warpin[$i] = 0)
         write "OrphanSectors.txt" $i
      end
      add $i 1
   end


Testing it now ;)

_________________
-Thrawn

But risk has always been an inescapable part of warfare.

--

Knight to Queen's Bishop 3


Sun Feb 22, 2009 8:40 pm
Profile
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2007 5:06 pm
Posts: 2059
Location: Oklahoma
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
If I am following you correctly here is what I do to test for them
Login using Observer account, run CIM
run this script test_get_distance.ts (wrote by Karl Leifeste) if it comes back a -1 there is no route.
ran in about 30 seconds to test, the script writes the file to the root of TWX

Code:
clearAllAvoids
setVar $logfile GAMENAME & "-test_get_distance.log"

fileExists $test_for_log $logfile
if ($test_for_log = 1)
  delete $logfile
end

setVar $my_sector 1
setVar $shortest_hop 99

while ($i < SECTORS)
  add $i 1
  getDistance $test_distance $my_sector $i
  write $logfile "getDistance " & $my_sector & " " & $i & " = " & $test_distance
  if ($test_distance < $shortest_hop)
    setVar $shortest_hop $test_distance
    setVar $nearest_sector $i
    write $logfile "sector " & $nearest_sector & " is " & $shortest_hop & " away*"
  end
end

_________________
T0yman (Permanently Retired since 2012)
Proverbs 17:28 <-- Don't know it, most should it would stop a lot of the discussions on here.


Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:03 pm
Profile ICQ YIM WWW
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:00 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Kansas
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
T0yman wrote:
If I am following you correctly here is what I do to test for them
Login using Observer account, run CIM
run this script test_get_distance.ts (wrote by Karl Leifeste) if it comes back a -1 there is no route.
script writes the file to the root of TWX

Code:
clearAllAvoids
setVar $logfile GAMENAME & "-test_get_distance.log"

fileExists $test_for_log $logfile
if ($test_for_log = 1)
  delete $logfile
end

setVar $my_sector 1
setVar $shortest_hop 99

while ($i < SECTORS)
  add $i 1
  getDistance $test_distance $my_sector $i
  write $logfile "getDistance " & $my_sector & " " & $i & " = " & $test_distance
  if ($test_distance < $shortest_hop)
    setVar $shortest_hop $test_distance
    setVar $nearest_sector $i
    write $logfile "sector " & $nearest_sector & " is " & $shortest_hop & " away*"
  end
end


I think that would be a far better script to run than using the t-edit step through as it is a lot faster. Stepping through 20k sectors will take a lot of time - more time than setting up a TWX database, an observer account, cimming, and running Karl's script. Nice work to Karl on the script.

_________________
               / Promethius / Enigma / Wolfen /

"A man who has no skills can be taught, a man who has no honor has nothing."


Sun Feb 22, 2009 9:10 pm
Profile ICQ
Gameop

Joined: Mon Dec 16, 2002 3:00 am
Posts: 241
Location: USA
Unread post Re: No Route Within 45 Warps
I thank you all for your input. I believe that I've found the offending sector and poked a hole in it. Seems to be ok now so will see what happens. Again, thank you all for your input.

_________________
Ahab

ahabstwgs.game-host.org
msn orkidz4u@hotmail.com
yahoo orkidz4u@yahoo.com
msn IM Ahab
yahoo IM Orkidz4u


Mon Feb 23, 2009 8:05 am
Profile YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 13 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.