View unanswered posts | View active topics It is currently Thu Dec 12, 2019 2:59 am



Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
 A Problem 
Author Message
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 23
Location: United States
Unread post A Problem
It was just recently pointed out to me that I am running an older version of TWGS. Apparently I set the thing up from an old file and have tw version 3.11.55. I want to upgrade it to ver 3.13 without trashing the system and starting over.

I looked at the files and it appears that I might be able to accomplish it by stopping the server, exiting TWGS, and replacing the .EXE files with the newer ones. The other files don't appear to have been changed in a long time. My hope is that the game data files are compatible with both 3.11.55 and 3.13. I couldn't find anything around here that dealt with this issue. Have any of you guys tried to do this?


Mon Mar 17, 2008 8:35 pm
Profile
Ambassador
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 3:00 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Kansas
Unread post Re: A Problem
Tark wrote:
It was just recently pointed out to me that I am running an older version of TWGS. Apparently I set the thing up from an old file and have tw version 3.11.55. I want to upgrade it to ver 3.13 without trashing the system and starting over.

I looked at the files and it appears that I might be able to accomplish it by stopping the server, exiting TWGS, and replacing the .EXE files with the newer ones. The other files don't appear to have been changed in a long time. My hope is that the game data files are compatible with both 3.11.55 and 3.13. I couldn't find anything around here that dealt with this issue. Have any of you guys tried to do this?


Seems like there is a problem doing that, but don't really remember (not much help). I would run a backup and try it on another computer to see what happens, but then you also run the risk of it appearing to be fine and then having issues. Personally, I would post a rebuild date and start fresh. That is provided someone doesn't know for certain that there would be no issues.

_________________
               / Promethius / Enigma / Wolfen /

"A man who has no skills can be taught, a man who has no honor has nothing."


Tue Mar 18, 2008 1:28 am
Profile ICQ
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Mon May 07, 2007 11:10 pm
Posts: 23
Location: United States
Unread post Re: A Problem
Quote:
would run a backup and try it on another computer to see what happens, but then you also run the risk of it appearing to be fine and then having issues. Personally, I would


I set up 3.11.55 on another machine, went into a game, created a character, went to Stardock, then to Sector 1, trading all the way, then quit. Stopped TWGS, removed all .EXE files and replaced them with .EXE files in TWGS10300.ZIP, and restarted. Everything worked and looked perfect (actually, the desktop shortcut wouldn't work), but I still don't trust it. I think I may just stay with the old version till I have a compelling reason to change it.


Thu Mar 20, 2008 10:07 am
Profile
Lieutenant Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:00 am
Posts: 781
Location: Iowa
Unread post Re: A Problem
an interesting side effect of vers. 3.11.55 is that the server won't reply to a sent #145 with a couple newlines and a #145 & #8. That was implemented in later versions...

result is those scripts that 'prompt check' using the send #145 and waitfor #145 & #8 will hang and not even really load. .ts versions can be altered easily..but this will be a problem for those who can't do without m()m :shock:

anyone see a workaround for this? or heh, just don't use dem scripts? (quite a few decent ones...)


this is perhaps one way to prevent certain scripts I suppose...

_________________
#+++
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
#---


Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:48 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: A Problem
No way around it that I know of it... just one of the downsides to using the #145 trick.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Mon Mar 24, 2008 6:57 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Gameop
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 25, 2007 7:27 pm
Posts: 530
Location: Long Island
Unread post Re: A Problem
For us ignorant people new to the scripting world, what is the #145 trick?

_________________
If you have a building game, they will come...

Proud Sysop of ICE9 TWGS
Home of Building and Non Regulated Games
http://www.oregonsouth.com/ice9
telnet://ice9-tw.com:2002


Mon Mar 24, 2008 9:19 pm
Profile
Lieutenant Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:00 am
Posts: 781
Location: Iowa
Unread post Re: A Problem
from http://www.eisonline.com/twgs/beta/

New: Added an experimental global to help scripts and helpers verify the active prompt. Using the extended character ascii 145, a script or helper can tell TW to redisplay the active prompt, followed by the same ascii character, #145. The result of issueing a #145 will be two newlines, followed by the prompt, followed by ascii 145 and a backspace. In some cases, there will be additional dynamic information following the ascii 145, so it is not guaranteed that the 145 will be at the end of the prompt line.

IMPORTANT: This is experimental. Do not integrate this fully into your scripts or helper until it has been verified to be effective and locked in as a feature


an example.. ok, from Dnyarri's CitKilla - v1.1 release.
Code:
# Check the current prompt.
:promptify
send #145
waitFor #145 & #8
getWord CURRENTLINE $prompt 1
stripText $prompt #145
stripText $prompt #8
if ($prompt <> "Citadel")
     send "'[Dnyarri's Citkilla]: Cannot load from this prompt!*"
     halt
end


this help any?

ps .ts workaround, work currently in testing..
Code:
# Check the current prompt.
:promptify
send "/"
waitFor "(?="
getWord CURRENTLINE $prompt 1
stripText $prompt #145
stripText $prompt #8
if ($prompt <> "Citadel")
     send "'[Dnyarri's Citkilla]: Cannot load from this prompt!*"
     halt
end

_________________
#+++
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
#---


Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:01 pm
Profile ICQ YIM
Veteran Op
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 02, 2005 2:00 am
Posts: 5558
Location: USA
Unread post Re: A Problem
I don't think that "/" repeats the prompt (thought it used some funky ansi trick), but you can try it. I used to use:

Code:
send "*"
waitFor "(?="


Which works fine. MD and them use ^Q and got the prompt from the CIM close.

_________________
May the unholy fires of corbomite ignite deep within the depths of your soul...

1. TWGS server @ twgs.navhaz.com
2. The NavHaz Junction - Tradewars 2002 Scripts, Resources and Downloads
3. Open IRC chat @ irc.freenode.net:6667 #twchan
4. Parrothead wrote: Jesus wouldn't Subspace Crawl.

*** SG memorial donations via paypal to: dpocky68@booinc.com
Image


Mon Mar 24, 2008 10:15 pm
Profile ICQ WWW
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1351
Location: Canada
Unread post Re: A Problem
Crosby wrote:
result is those scripts that 'prompt check' using the send #145 and waitfor #145 & #8 will hang and not even really load. .ts versions can be altered easily..but this will be a problem for those who can't do without m()m :shock:

anyone see a workaround for this? or heh, just don't use dem scripts? (quite a few decent ones...)

this is perhaps one way to prevent certain scripts I suppose...


An idea comes to mind. though I haven't tested this cause I don't know who's hosting a v3.11 server. I would probably make a system Script something like:

Code:
systemscript
:And_Again
setTextTrigger Prompted :Prompted #145
pause
:Prompted
send "^q"
waiton ": ENDINTERROG"
processout #145 & #8
goto :And_Again

_________________
----------------------------
-= QUANTUM Computing 101: 15 = 3 x 5 ... 48% of the time.
-= There are 10 types of people in the world: Those that understand Binary and those who do not
-= If Oil is made from Dinosaurs, and Plastic is made from Oil... are plastic Dinosaurs made from real Dinosaurs?
-= I like to keep my friends and my enemies rich, and wait to see which is which - Tony Stark (R.I.P.)


Tue Mar 25, 2008 5:24 am
Profile ICQ YIM
Lieutenant Commander
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 3:00 am
Posts: 781
Location: Iowa
Unread post Re: A Problem
well, it's Tark who has the 3.11.55 version running (umm see above thread, no link necessary) over on bluelobster.dyndns.org:2002

m()m bot is running ok ( which is one .cts i thought would hang, go figure ) and am using dny_planet_vacuum.ts for testing. seems to still be waiting for the 'ae' squiggle. (#145)


As for the .ts fix : changing the send from #145 to "/" works ok, I'm sure the send "*" is cleaner but will give same result. I Do like LS's approach so I don't have to duplicate a bunch of scripts for those rare times when I find an oddball version..

testing continues.

_________________
#+++
The early bird may get the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese.
#---


Tue Mar 25, 2008 6:02 am
Profile ICQ YIM
Commander
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jun 09, 2006 2:00 am
Posts: 1351
Location: Canada
Unread post Re: A Problem
Crosby wrote:
well, it's Tark who has the 3.11.55 version running (umm see above thread, no link necessary) over on bluelobster.dyndns.org:2002


I must be going blind, cause I don't see that addy anywhere other than your reply, and in my reply to your reply :lol:


Anyhoot. if it works, it can be added to the Auto-Run TAB in twx, so that it'll start every time TWX is loaded.

_________________
----------------------------
-= QUANTUM Computing 101: 15 = 3 x 5 ... 48% of the time.
-= There are 10 types of people in the world: Those that understand Binary and those who do not
-= If Oil is made from Dinosaurs, and Plastic is made from Oil... are plastic Dinosaurs made from real Dinosaurs?
-= I like to keep my friends and my enemies rich, and wait to see which is which - Tony Stark (R.I.P.)


Tue Mar 25, 2008 7:30 am
Profile ICQ YIM
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Reply to topic   [ 11 posts ] 

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group.
Designed by STSoftware.